Skip to content
South Gloucestershire Counts — South Gloucestershire, in numbers.Local help →

South Gloucestershire, in numbers

People and living standards

South Gloucestershire council area. Every figure carries its own date.

How the population is changing, who lives here and what living standards look like.

South Gloucestershire council area. These are council-area figures. They are not a separate history for every ward or the city centre.

More people? A different age mix?

The population grew from 222,150 in 1991 to 308,787 in 2025.

A growing number of children, working-age adults or older residents can mean different needs for homes, schools, jobs and care.

Population

1996 to 2025

South Gloucestershire council area · people

Reviewed figures: 1991 to 2025. The chart opens on the latest 30 years; choose All history for the full reviewed record.

Shown on this chart: 233,020 people in 1996; 308,787 people in 2025. 32.5% higher between these observations.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published annual mid-year population estimates, both sexes. Exact requested ONS area code; source geography vintage retained. Latest revised source series is used throughout; no years are interpolated and no ward values are inferred.

Mid-year estimates, not census counts. Historical revisions and boundaries follow this one published series.

This is the whole stated area, not a ward or necessarily the named city settlement.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

Population — South Gloucestershire council area: full reviewed history
Periodpeople
1991222,150
1992225,629
1993228,666
1994230,850
1995231,341
1996233,020
1997236,306
1998238,357
1999241,635
2000244,790
2001245,985
2002247,755
2003249,176
2004251,226
2005253,178
2006255,258
2007256,640
2008257,970
2009259,730
2010261,471
2011263,417
2012265,741
2013268,167
2014269,840
2015272,189
2016275,808
2017278,379
2018281,719
2019284,563
2020287,182
2021290,886
2022295,327
2023300,441
2024305,766
2025308,787
Source →
People aged 0 to 15

People aged 0 to 15

1996 to 2025

South Gloucestershire council area · people

Reviewed figures: 1991 to 2025. The chart opens on the latest 30 years; choose All history for the full reviewed record.

Shown on this chart: 48,591 people in 1996; 54,965 people in 2025. 13.1% higher between these observations.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published annual mid-year population estimates, both sexes. Exact requested ONS area code; source geography vintage retained. Latest revised source series is used throughout; no years are interpolated and no ward values are inferred.

Mid-year estimates, not census counts. Historical revisions and boundaries follow this one published series.

This is the whole stated area, not a ward or necessarily the named city settlement.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

People aged 0 to 15 — South Gloucestershire council area: full reviewed history
Periodpeople
199145,444
199246,381
199347,032
199447,881
199548,171
199648,591
199749,461
199849,907
199950,846
200051,221
200151,047
200250,663
200350,205
200449,782
200549,376
200649,637
200749,608
200849,793
200949,878
201049,895
201149,972
201249,952
201349,857
201449,978
201550,545
201650,973
201751,438
201852,033
201952,441
202052,735
202152,991
202253,685
202354,596
202455,261
202554,965
Source →
People aged 16 to 64

People aged 16 to 64

1996 to 2025

South Gloucestershire council area · people

Reviewed figures: 1991 to 2025. The chart opens on the latest 30 years; choose All history for the full reviewed record.

Shown on this chart: 152,588 people in 1996; 195,407 people in 2025. 28.1% higher between these observations.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published annual mid-year population estimates, both sexes. Exact requested ONS area code; source geography vintage retained. Latest revised source series is used throughout; no years are interpolated and no ward values are inferred.

Mid-year estimates, not census counts. Historical revisions and boundaries follow this one published series.

This is the whole stated area, not a ward or necessarily the named city settlement.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

People aged 16 to 64 — South Gloucestershire council area: full reviewed history
Periodpeople
1991147,867
1992149,827
1993151,646
1994152,307
1995151,965
1996152,588
1997154,399
1998155,298
1999156,806
2000158,876
2001159,465
2002160,870
2003162,041
2004163,704
2005165,321
2006166,383
2007167,007
2008167,077
2009167,478
2010167,839
2011168,689
2012169,220
2013170,205
2014170,541
2015171,419
2016173,742
2017175,300
2018177,387
2019178,951
2020180,659
2021183,330
2022186,276
2023189,600
2024193,248
2025195,407
Source →
People aged 65 or over

People aged 65 or over

1996 to 2025

South Gloucestershire council area · people

Reviewed figures: 1991 to 2025. The chart opens on the latest 30 years; choose All history for the full reviewed record.

Shown on this chart: 31,841 people in 1996; 58,415 people in 2025. 83.5% higher between these observations.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published annual mid-year population estimates, both sexes. Exact requested ONS area code; source geography vintage retained. Latest revised source series is used throughout; no years are interpolated and no ward values are inferred.

Mid-year estimates, not census counts. Historical revisions and boundaries follow this one published series.

This is the whole stated area, not a ward or necessarily the named city settlement.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

People aged 65 or over — South Gloucestershire council area: full reviewed history
Periodpeople
199128,839
199229,421
199329,988
199430,662
199531,205
199631,841
199732,446
199833,152
199933,983
200034,693
200135,473
200236,222
200336,930
200437,740
200538,481
200639,238
200740,025
200841,100
200942,374
201043,737
201144,756
201246,569
201348,105
201449,321
201550,225
201651,093
201751,641
201852,299
201953,171
202053,788
202154,565
202255,366
202356,245
202457,257
202558,415
Source →

Population growth alone does not show whether services are under pressure. Capacity, location and residents’ needs also matter.

How residents described their ethnic group

These are census snapshots, not annual estimates. Open a year to see both the number of people and their share of the population.

2021 census · 290,424 residents
How this census compares with other years

Census snapshots use the categories and boundaries published for each year. They are not annual estimates. In England and Wales, Chinese moved from Chinese/Other in 2001 to Asian in 2011; mixed categories and later write-in categories also changed. No change is calculated across these categories.

Ethnic group · South Gloucestershire · 2021
Residents’ census answerPeopleShare
Asian, Asian British or Asian Welsh11,0943.8%
Black, Black British, Black Welsh, Caribbean or African4,5341.6%
Mixed or Multiple ethnic groups7,2892.5%
White264,85691.2%
Other ethnic group2,6510.9%

Census wording and the available categories can change. The tables retain the categories published for each year; they are not automatically like-for-like trends.

Source and method →
2011 census · 262,767 residents
How this census compares with other years

Census snapshots use the categories and boundaries published for each year. They are not annual estimates. In England and Wales, Chinese moved from Chinese/Other in 2001 to Asian in 2011; mixed categories and later write-in categories also changed. No change is calculated across these categories.

Ethnic group · South Gloucestershire · 2011
Residents’ census answerPeopleShare
White249,57495%
Mixed/multiple ethnic groups3,6671.4%
Asian/Asian British6,4402.5%
Black/African/Caribbean/Black British2,2180.8%
Other ethnic group8680.3%

Census wording and the available categories can change. The tables retain the categories published for each year; they are not automatically like-for-like trends.

Source and method →
2001 census · 245,641 residents
How this census compares with other years

Census snapshots use the categories and boundaries published for each year. They are not annual estimates. In England and Wales, Chinese moved from Chinese/Other in 2001 to Asian in 2011; mixed categories and later write-in categories also changed. No change is calculated across these categories.

Ethnic group · South Gloucestershire · 2001
Residents’ census answerPeopleShare
White239,84597.6%
Mixed1,8670.8%
Asian/Asian British1,8360.7%
Black/Black British9310.4%
Chinese/Other1,1620.5%

Census wording and the available categories can change. The tables retain the categories published for each year; they are not automatically like-for-like trends.

Source and method →

A complete, comparable 30-year ethnicity history is not available for every current area. Missing years have not been estimated.

How comfortable is life here?

Pay, housing costs, health and opportunities tell different parts of the story. An area average can hide large differences between households.

In 2024, average disposable income per person was 3% above the UK average.

Money available to spend or save per person

1997 to 2024

South Gloucestershire council area · Cash prices, before allowing for inflation

Reviewed figures: 1997 to 2024. This reviewed record covers fewer than 30 years, so the chart opens on all of it.

Shown on this chart: £11,453 per person in 1997; £26,750 per person in 2024. 133.6% higher between these observations.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published ONS table values from one 1997–2024 release, matched by exact source geography code. Table3 per-person values are retained, not recalculated from rounded totals. Source country/region references are the official published totals, not averages of selected councils.

Amounts are in cash prices for each year and include inflation. A rise does not by itself show an increase in purchasing power.

This is an average per resident, including children and retired people, not the income of a typical household, wages or wealth.

These are official statistics in development, combining administrative and survey inputs. The Annual Population Survey contributes to some components; it is not the sole source.

The 2024 estimates are provisional. Earlier years have been revised within this single release; no release editions are spliced.

The UK index compares each year with the UK average in that same year. It is not an inflation-adjusted income index.

Geography as published in the ONS 19 August 2026 release; exact source code retained. The workbook does not specify a separate local-boundary effective date.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

Money available to spend or save per person — South Gloucestershire council area: full reviewed history
Period£ per person, current prices
199711,453
199811,846
199912,318
200012,486
200112,678
200212,881
200313,258
200413,605
200514,146
200614,984
200715,583
200816,183
200916,081
201016,230
201116,531
201217,052
201317,732
201418,446
201519,789
201619,851
201720,054
201821,522
201921,677
202021,286
202122,103
202223,468
202325,318
202426,750
Source →
Has the gap with the UK average changed?

Above zero means income is above the UK average; below zero means it is below. Each year is compared with the UK average for that same year.

Income above or below the UK average

1997 to 2024

South Gloucestershire council area · %

Reviewed figures: 1997 to 2024. This reviewed record covers fewer than 30 years, so the chart opens on all of it.

Shown on this chart: 7.9% in 1997; 3% in 2024. 4.9 percentage points lower.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published ONS table values from one 1997–2024 release, matched by exact source geography code. Table3 per-person values are retained, not recalculated from rounded totals. Source country/region references are the official published totals, not averages of selected councils. Displayed as the published UK=100 value minus 100, giving the percentage above or below the UK average.

Amounts are in cash prices for each year and include inflation. A rise does not by itself show an increase in purchasing power.

This is an average per resident, including children and retired people, not the income of a typical household, wages or wealth.

These are official statistics in development, combining administrative and survey inputs. The Annual Population Survey contributes to some components; it is not the sole source.

The 2024 estimates are provisional. Earlier years have been revised within this single release; no release editions are spliced.

The UK index compares each year with the UK average in that same year. It is not an inflation-adjusted income index.

Geography as published in the ONS 19 August 2026 release; exact source code retained. The workbook does not specify a separate local-boundary effective date.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

Income above or below the UK average — South Gloucestershire council area: full reviewed history
Period%
19977.9
19989.4
19998.9
20004.9
20012.5
20021.8
20031.7
20040.2
20050.6
20062.3
20071.5
20082.8
20090.4
20100.5
20111.5
20121
20131.2
20142
20154
20163.1
20171.8
20185.4
20192.9
20201.4
20211.2
20222.2
20233.5
20243
Source →

Mixed-source official estimates: administrative records and surveys. Income here is the average money per resident available to spend or save after tax and benefits. It is not typical pay or household wealth. Cash figures do not show how much prices changed.

Adults in work

62.2%

21 March 2021 · South Gloucestershire council area

Show the workings

All usual residents aged 16 and over

21 March 2021, residents aged 16 and over. Includes full-time students in the corresponding work/unemployment categories. Not a current labour-market estimate or the usual 16–64 employment rate. Census took place during the coronavirus pandemic; furlough and lockdown affected answers. Ward counts sum complete official output-area best-fit membership; privacy adjustment can make totals differ slightly.

Source →

Households facing several disadvantages

13.3%

21 March 2021 · South Gloucestershire council area

Show the workings

All households

Published Census 2021 count; percentage uses the matching population denominator

Source →

Adults with no qualifications

14.2%

21 March 2021 · South Gloucestershire council area

Show the workings

Residents aged 16 and over

Published Census 2021 count; percentage uses the matching population denominator

Source →

People reporting bad or very bad health

4.2%

21 March 2021 · South Gloucestershire council area

Show the workings

All usual residents; self-reported, not age-standardised

Published Census 2021 count; percentage uses the matching population denominator

Source →

Average home price

£342,000

July 2026 · South Gloucestershire council area

Show the workings

Homes in the local authority area

Published UK House Price Index average price, all property types and all buyers, not seasonally adjusted. Entire series comes from the 2026-07 official full-file release, preserving its historical revisions and exact area codes. It is a mix-adjusted average, not the median price paid.

Source →

Average monthly private rent

£1,464

August 2026 · South Gloucestershire council area

Show the workings

Homes in the local authority area

Official local housing data feed. House prices are provisional, not seasonally adjusted; rents use the Price Index of Private Rents. Local short-term estimates are variable. Country references use only the explicitly country-coded ctry object, never the local place object.

Source →

Deprivation describes several kinds of disadvantage. It is not a measure of household wealth. A change in an area's ranking does not by itself show whether living conditions improved.

See differences between neighbourhoods →

What could the changes mean locally?

Use the age profile alongside school places and care capacity, and look at housing costs alongside pay. Then check whether local plans respond to the needs shown by the evidence.

Read the local action plan →
Which histories are missing or need care?

These histories describe the stated whole area. A consistent historical series for its current wards has not been established.

1991 ethnicity has not been reconstructed to this current area. No annual ethnicity values are inferred between census dates.

These local income figures include inflation. No local inflation-adjusted income series has been substituted or inferred from regional prices.

This series describes the stated council or reference area. A comparable 30-year income history for its current wards has not been established.

The reviewed release starts in 1997. Earlier income values have not been invented or joined from another definition.